PMA has established criteria that will only honor truly exceptional properties. Esteemed property management professionals perform judging. The criteria judges will use to evaluate communities include, but not limited to, the following:

  • Landscaping/Grounds/Curb Appeal
  • Reception Area/Leasing Center
  • Best Practices - Building Interior
  • Model/Occupied Unit/Vacant Unit
  • Building Health & Safety
  • Common Areas and Amenities
  • Maintenance Shop
  • Resident Services
  • Resident Events & Activities
  • Marketing Outreach
  • Community Service
  • Resident Retention

Awards will be given in four categories corresponding to different types of participating properties: market rate, lease-up (properties less than a year old), affordable (tax credit/government assisted) and senior (55+ communities that are 75% senior, including those that are affordable). Within those four categories, properties will compete against those with comparable rents in the same state.

Each participant will receive a copy of the judges’ evaluation sheets that include strengths and opportunities for improvement determined during the site visit and evaluation of the application.